Politics · Brazil · 2 days ago
Vorcaro’s lawyer says he knows nothing of alleged Lula film funding
Daniel Bialski, a lawyer for businessman Daniel Vorcaro, said he knew nothing about claims that Vorcaro discussed funding a documentary about Brazilian President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.
The claims were attributed to Vorcaro in a magazine report, which said he had described payments to the Lula Institute for a film about Lula.
Bialski said he was not representing Vorcaro when proposed cooperation deals were submitted and that Vorcaro had not given a new statement about the matter.
He also said he had never seen the phone data drive or attachments mentioned in the report.
Brazil’s Federal Police said Vorcaro did not give testimony or submit documents or other material containing the reported claims.
The Prosecutor General’s Office said there was no oral testimony because the proposed cooperation deal was rejected.
Lula has denied requesting or receiving financial benefits from Vorcaro, or authorizing anyone to receive money on his behalf.
The Federal Police said it received a complaint asking for urgent steps to investigate matters connected to the magazine’s publication.
Daniel Bialski, a lawyer for Daniel Vorcaro, said he knew nothing about claims that Vorcaro helped fund a documentary about President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.
Bialski said Vorcaro had not given a new statement to the Federal Police or another body about the matter.
The Federal Police said Vorcaro had neither given a statement with the reported contents nor submitted related material.
The Attorney General’s Office said there had been no oral testimony from Vorcaro during plea-bargain talks.
Veja reported that Vorcaro allegedly paid R$ 30 million to the Lula Institute to help finance a documentary about Lula.
- Who
- Daniel Bialski, a lawyer for Daniel Vorcaro, said he did not know about the claims.
- What
- Veja reported alleged payments to the Lula Institute to fund a documentary about Lula. Vorcaro’s lawyer and public authorities disputed or denied aspects of the report.
- When
- Friday, October 9, 2026.
- Where
- Not stated.
- Why
- Not stated.
Veja report
Vorcaro’s lawyer and public authorities
Alleged payments
Veja report
Veja reported that Vorcaro allegedly paid R$ 30 million to the Lula Institute to help fund a documentary about Lula.
Vorcaro’s lawyer and public authorities
Bialski said he knew nothing of the account; the Federal Police said Vorcaro had not given a statement or submitted material with the reported contents.
Vorcaro’s testimony
Veja report
Veja attributed an account of the alleged payments to Vorcaro.
Vorcaro’s lawyer and public authorities
The Federal Police said Vorcaro had not given a statement with that content, and the Attorney General’s Office said there had been no oral testimony.
I was not part of Daniel Vorcaro’s defense when the plea-bargain proposals were submitted, and what I can say is that he did not give any new statement to the Federal Police or any other body discussing this.
Daniel Vorcaro did not give a statement with the content reported in the article, nor did he deliver to the institution attachments, documents or information with the content described there.
There was no oral testimony from Mr. Vorcaro, precisely because of the rejection of the proposal, the reasons for which were explained to the defense.
Veja’s report about alleged payments and funding for a Lula documentary was discussed in news reports.
Daniel Bialski said he knew nothing about the claims and said Vorcaro had not given a new statement about them.
The Federal Police denied that Vorcaro had given a statement or submitted material with the reported contents.
The Federal Police said it had received a criminal complaint seeking urgent measures related to Veja’s publication.
- Lawyer
- Daniel Bialski
- Businessman
- Daniel Vorcaro, former owner of Banco Master
- Alleged payment
- R$ 30 million, according to Veja’s report
- Reported recipient
- Lula Institute
- Reported purpose
- Funding a documentary about Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva
- Date of statements
- October 9, 2026










