Politics · Other · 6 hrs ago
Adebutu says he remains a PDP member after INEC omits him from Ogun candidate list
Ladi Adebutu says he remains a registered member of Nigeria’s Peoples Democratic Party, or PDP.
He is seeking to become governor of Ogun State in the election scheduled for 6 February 2027.
The Independent National Electoral Commission, known as INEC, published a final list of 13 candidates but left out Adebutu and his running mate, Yemi Sowunmi-Kolapo.
INEC has not explained why the PDP candidates were excluded.
The issue concerns rules requiring parties to submit their membership registers to INEC on time and use them for party primaries.
Adebutu says he registered within the deadline and alleges, without providing proof, that pressure from the ruling All Progressives Congress contributed to his exclusion.
He says steps are being taken to resolve the matter before the election.
Ladi Adebutu says he remains a registered Peoples Democratic Party member after INEC left him off its final list of Ogun State governorship candidates for 2027.
The list includes 13 candidates from other parties and excludes the PDP’s candidates, Adebutu and his running mate, Yemi Sowunmi-Kolapo.
Adebutu says he registered within the required period and that his membership card was printed and verified.
He alleges that the ruling All Progressives Congress pressured INEC, but the commission has not stated why the PDP candidates were excluded.
Adebutu says he expects the issue to be resolved before the election on 6 February 2027.
- Who
- Ladi Adebutu, the PDP’s Ogun State governorship candidate, and his running mate, Yemi Sowunmi-Kolapo.
- What
- INEC omitted them from its final list of candidates for the 2027 Ogun governorship election. Adebutu says he remains a duly registered PDP member.
- When
- INEC published the final list before the election scheduled for 6 February 2027. The article was published on 11 October 2026.
- Where
- Ogun State, Nigeria.
- Why
- INEC has not stated its reasons for excluding the PDP candidates. Adebutu alleges pressure from the ruling APC.
This story does not have two clearly opposing sides.
I remain a duly registered member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). I completed my digital registration within the stipulated period, and my membership card was printed and verified,
My documentation was duly submitted to INEC within the prescribed time. I have not at any point left the PDP, and my commitment to our great party remains unwavering.
The circumstances surrounding this omission raise serious questions, particularly when all the other party’s candidates across the House of Assembly, House of Representatives and Senatorial positions have appeared on the published lists,
The party has spoken, and the necessary steps are being taken to address this matter. I remain confident that it will be resolved,
INEC published its final list of Ogun State governorship candidates, excluding the PDP’s candidates.
Adebutu issued a statement saying he remains a registered PDP member and expressing confidence the issue would be resolved.
- Election date
- 6 February 2027
- Candidates on INEC list
- 13 Ogun State governorship candidates
- Excluded PDP candidates
- Ladi Adebutu and Yemi Sowunmi-Kolapo
- Membership requirement
- Section 77(5) of the Electoral Act 2026 requires a candidate’s name to appear on the party membership register submitted to INEC within the prescribed period.







