2 weeks ago
SBI Revises BSBD Account Withdrawal Rules From October 2026
State Bank of India offers BSBD accounts for people who want basic banking services without keeping a minimum balance.
These accounts provide four free cash withdrawals each month.
From October 1, 2026, more types of withdrawals will count toward those four free withdrawals.
This includes cash taken from SBI and other-bank ATMs.
It also includes cash withdrawals at branches and through Aadhaar Enabled Payment System services.
Digital transactions will no longer be left out of the calculation.
Using more than four eligible withdrawals may lead to extra charges.
The article does not say how much those charges will be.
State Bank of India will revise Basic Savings Bank Deposit withdrawal rules from October 1, 2026.
The monthly limit will include four free withdrawals across ATMs, branches and Aadhaar Enabled Payment System transactions.
Both SBI and other-bank ATM cash withdrawals will count toward the four free transactions.
Digital transactions will no longer be excluded when calculating the monthly free-withdrawal limit.
Withdrawals beyond the free limit may attract additional charges, though the article does not specify the amount.
- Who
- State Bank of India and its Basic Savings Bank Deposit account holders.
- What
- SBI is revising the rules for calculating monthly free cash withdrawals and may charge for withdrawals beyond the limit.
- Where
- The rules apply to SBI BSBD accounts and cover ATM, branch and Aadhaar Enabled Payment System withdrawals.
- When
- The revised rules take effect on October 1, 2026.
- Why
- The article says the revised framework changes which transactions count toward the four free withdrawals; it does not state a separate rationale.
Key facts
- Effective date
- October 1, 2026
- Monthly free withdrawals
- Four eligible withdrawals
- Included channels
- SBI and other-bank ATMs, branches and Aadhaar Enabled Payment System transactions
- Minimum balance
- No minimum balance is required for an SBI BSBD account
- Cheque book
- BSBD accounts do not offer a cheque book facility
- Debit card
- A basic RuPay ATM-cum-debit card is issued without an annual maintenance charge
- Other free services
- NEFT and RTGS electronic credits are free, as are certain government-cheque deposits or collections and activation of an inoperative account










