14 hrs ago
US proposes $70,000 fee for foreign students' temporary work
The United States has proposed a new fee connected to a work programme for foreign students.
The programme lets students work in the US for one to two years in jobs related to what they studied.
Under the proposal, approved schools would have to pay $70,000 before recommending a student.
Each later participation would have a proposed fee of $30,000.
The Department of Homeland Security says the fees could help stop fraud and reduce what it calls cheap labour.
It also says schools should check more carefully before recommending students.
The proposal has not been described as a final rule in the article.
The article does not include responses from students or schools.
The United States proposed a $70,000 fee for institutions recommending foreign students for Optional Practical Training (OPT).
OPT allows eligible foreign students to work in the US for one to two years in fields related to their education.
The proposal would also charge $30,000 for each subsequent participation in the programme.
The Department of Homeland Security said the fees aim to curb cheap labour, fraud and abuse, and protect program integrity.
More than 140,000 Indian students participated in OPT in academic year 2024–25, according to the article.
- Who
- The US Department of Homeland Security proposed fees affecting foreign students and schools certified under the Student and Exchange Visitor Program.
- What
- A proposed $70,000 fee for initial OPT participation and $30,000 for each subsequent participation.
- Where
- United States
- When
- The Department of Homeland Security announced the proposal on Wednesday; the article gives no calendar date.
- Why
- The department says the fees would reduce cheap labour, combat fraud and abuse, and strengthen program integrity.
Administration's stated rationale
Other perspectives not reported
Proposed fees
Administration's stated rationale
The Department of Homeland Security says fees would reduce cheap labour, deter fraud and abuse, and encourage schools to exercise greater oversight.
Other perspectives not reported
The article does not provide responses or opposing arguments from foreign students, schools, employers, or other groups.
Key facts
- Proposed initial fee
- $70,000
- Proposed subsequent participation fee
- $30,000
- Programme
- Optional Practical Training (OPT)
- OPT work period
- One to two years after completing a course, in a field related to the student's education
- Fee payer under proposal
- Institutions certified under the Student and Exchange Visitor Program
- Indian students in US, academic year 2024–25
- More than 360,000
- Indian students participating in OPT, academic year 2024–25
- More than 140,000
Quotes
Department of Homeland Security spokesperson
A spokesperson for the US Department of Homeland Security.
“The proposed fees would encourage schools to exercise greater oversight and selectivity when recommending F-1 non-immigrant students for OPT, helping reduce fraud and strengthen program integrity.”
scroll.in
“The programme was never meant to be a back door into the American workforce, a subsidy for cheap labour, or a prize for those who game the system.”
scroll.in







