Health · Healthcare & Policy · 1 hr ago
CMS finalizes 2027 outpatient payment rule with 2.3% rate increase
CMS finalized its 2027 hospital outpatient payment rule on Nov.
4, covering hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers.
Hospitals that meet quality reporting requirements will receive a 2.3% increase in outpatient payment rates.
The rule cuts payment for drugs hospitals acquire through the 340B program.
It also expands site-neutral payments to imaging, meaning the rule changes how those services are paid across sites.
CMS will continue phasing out the inpatient-only list, which identifies procedures limited to inpatient hospital care.
These changes affect how hospitals and surgery centers are paid, and the new payment rules apply in 2027.
CMS finalized its 2027 hospital outpatient and ambulatory surgical center payment rule on Nov. 4.
Payment rates will rise 2.3% in 2027 for hospitals that meet quality reporting requirements.
The rule cuts payment for drugs acquired through the 340B program.
It expands site-neutral payments to imaging and continues phasing out the inpatient-only list.
- Who
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).
- What
- CMS finalized the 2027 hospital outpatient and ambulatory surgical center payment rule.
- When
- Nov. 4, 2026.
- Where
- Not stated.
- Why
- Not stated.
This story does not have two clearly opposing sides.
This story does not have a timeline yet.
- Finalization date
- Nov. 4, 2026
- Payment increase
- 2.3% in 2027 for hospitals meeting quality reporting requirements
- 340B drugs
- Payment cuts finalized for drugs acquired through the program
- Imaging
- Site-neutral payments expanded to imaging
- Inpatient-only list
- The phase-out continues