Health · Healthcare & Policy · 1 hr ago
Six health systems estimate annual losses from proposed 340B payment cut
Six health systems have estimated how much they could lose under a proposed change to 340B drug payments.
They gave their estimates to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services in public comment letters.
The estimates range from about $7 million to $109 million a year.
The proposal is part of a rule setting outpatient payments for 2027.
It would change how hospitals are paid for drugs bought through the 340B program.
The figures show the potential financial impact the systems say the proposal could have.
The proposal is not described as final, and no next steps are given.
Six health systems estimated that a proposed federal cut to 340B drug payments would cost them between about $7 million and $109 million a year.
The estimates were included in public comment letters to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
The proposal is part of the 2027 outpatient payment rule.
The rule was proposed on July 2.
- Who
- Six health systems submitted estimates to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
- What
- They estimated annual losses from a proposed cut to 340B drug payments.
- When
- The 2027 outpatient payment rule was proposed July 2; the year is not stated.
- Where
- Not stated.
- Why
- The proposed rule would change payments for drugs bought through the 340B program.
This story does not have two clearly opposing sides.
No direct quotes in the coverage so far.
CMS proposed the 2027 outpatient payment rule, which includes a proposed cut to 340B drug payments.
Six health systems sent CMS public comment letters estimating their annual losses.
- Health systems
- 6
- Estimated annual losses
- About $7 million to $109 million
- Payment rule
- 2027 outpatient payment rule
- Proposal date
- July 2




