Science & Tech · Cybersecurity · 1 hr ago
SMBC Consumer Finance says data of up to 320,118 people was exposed
SMBC Consumer Finance found unauthorized access to a loan-guarantee system used for services such as card loans.
The company works with banks and other financial institutions in Japan to guarantee loans for their customers.
Information for up to 320,118 people was sent outside the system, including names, addresses, licence numbers, income and loan-guarantee amounts.
Images of driving licences and other identity documents were not included.
The company detected the access on November 2 and blocked it that day, then confirmed the leak while checking for other unauthorized access.
It has paused the system while it checks its safety and investigates the cause and the extent of the exposure with experts and relevant parties.
SMBC Consumer Finance said personal information belonging to as many as 320,118 people was sent outside the company after unauthorized access to a system used for loan guarantee services.
The exposed information included names, addresses, contact details, driver’s license numbers, income and contract details.
The company said images of identity documents, including driver’s licenses, were not included.
It detected the unauthorized access on November 2 and blocked access to the system that day.
- Who
- SMBC Consumer Finance and people whose information was held in its loan guarantee system.
- What
- Unauthorized access led to personal information being sent to external parties. The company said up to 320,118 people were affected.
- When
- The access was detected on November 2, 2026. The company announced the incident on November 5.
- Where
- A system used for loan guarantee services. The company did not state where the data was sent.
- Why
- Not stated.
This story does not have two clearly opposing sides.
SMBC Consumer Finance detected unauthorized access and blocked access to the guarantee system.
The company announced that personal information had been sent to external parties.
- Affected people
- Up to 320,118
- System
- Loan guarantee services system
- Detection date
- November 2, 2026
- Information exposed
- Names, addresses, contact details, driver’s license numbers, income and contract details
- Identity document images
- Not included
2 sources
What people are saying
It is extremely important to clearly recognize the risks,