Archive · 12 Dec 2025
NHRC Orders UP Govt to Pay Rs 10 Lakh for Custodial Death
The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) has told the Uttar Pradesh government to pay Rs 10 lakh to the family of Ziauddin, a 36-year-old man who died in police custody in March 2021.
The NHRC said the police did not explain how Ziauddin got eight injury marks on his body.
The police had said Ziauddin was taken for questioning and died on the way to the hospital.
But the NHRC did not believe the police's story and ordered the government to pay the money within four weeks.
The police have been criticized for not telling the truth and for not conducting a medical examination or postmortem initially.
An FIR was later filed against a police officer and a constable, but the police said there was no evidence of torture.
The NHRC ordered the UP government to pay Rs 10 lakh to the family of Ziauddin, who died in police custody in March 2021.
The Commission criticized the UP police for concealing facts and failing to explain the multiple injuries found on Ziauddin's body.
Ziauddin was picked up by the police on March 25, 2021, and died the next day with eight injury marks on his body.
The postmortem report noted the cause of death as 'hypoxia and shock due to antemortem lung injury with multiple blunt injuries'.
An FIR was filed against SI Devendra Pal and a constable, but the police later claimed no evidence of custodial torture.
- Who
- Ziauddin, a 36-year-old man, and the Uttar Pradesh government
- What
- NHRC ordered compensation for Ziauddin's family and criticized UP police for concealing facts
- When
- Ziauddin died on March 26, 2021; NHRC order made public on Wednesday (exact date not specified)
- Where
- Ambedkar Nagar, Uttar Pradesh
- Why
- Ziauddin died in police custody with multiple injuries, and the police failed to provide a credible explanation
- Victim
- Ziauddin, 36-year-old man
- Compensation Amount
- Rs 10 lakh
- Date of Death
- March 26, 2021
- Location
- Ambedkar Nagar, Uttar Pradesh
- Cause of Death
- Hypoxia and shock due to antemortem lung injury with multiple blunt injuries
- Injury Marks
- Eight injury marks on the body
- Police Action
- FIR filed against SI Devendra Pal and a constable
- NHRC Order Date
- Wednesday (exact date not specified)